Am I looking for students to experience “Failure” or to realize that somethings are worth working for?

Today I read the following excellent blog post WHERE DOES FAILURE FIT http://somewherefromhere.edublogs.org/2013/05/28/finding-the-freedom-of-failure/#.Ua35T5GtC1g.twitter

After reading Kirsten’s thoughts I began to wonder? “Am I looking for students to experience “Failure” or to realize that somethings are worth working for?”

I decided that the next thing I need to do was reframe my perception of failure, and to do so I should look up a few synonyms.
DISAPPOINTMENT
LET DOWN

When I looked up the synonyms for failure the following statements popped up in my minds eye.
It’s not the end of the world?
Try going on another path?

How can we encourage students to find those other paths?

Tony Wagner suggests the following 7 survival skills http://www.tonywagner.com/7-survival-skills
• Critical thinking and problem-solving
• Collaboration across networks and leading by influence
• Agility and adaptability
• Initiative and entrepreneurialism
• Effective oral and written communication
• Accessing and analyzing information
• Curiosity and imagination

I would suggest promoting RESILIENCY

4 thoughts on “Am I looking for students to experience “Failure” or to realize that somethings are worth working for?

  1. I enjoyed watching your video. What is “open spokes?” The concept of failure is one that is heard frequently in a society that is overly taxed by testing. I’m reading Daniel Coyle’s “The Talent Code,” which reframes the idea of failure and translates it as mistakes. I don’t recall ever living in a community where people seemed comfortable with the idea of making a mistake. I rarely hear anyone encourage a student to make mistakes as a way in which to learn. I’m working diligently to spread the word that trying something new and expecting mistakes is perfectly normal.
    I would agree that children who don’t know how to overcome challenges,who understand that making a mistake is part of life are ones that have not learned how to be resilience.

  2. Pingback: Failure and failing | karenatsharon

Leave a comment