Dare to Care- Passing the Ripple Along

We have been working through the Dare to Care with our junior high students since Christmas here at Christ the King school. In particular we have covered the topics of a) Friendship Skills b) Bullying Behaviour and c) Micro Compassion.

Easter Break seems like a natural time in the school year to make a transition to a new topic.

Last week I told my students that we will be switching to a unit on Career Exploration after Easter, however I wanted to work with our division two students on the Dare to Care initiative after the break. I told them that I needed their help in creating change at CTK as WE are ALL responsible for coverting Caring to Kindness in our building.

Their summative assessment (rather than simply writing a test or essay), was to help me to develop resources which I could use to teach the Dare to Care curriculum to our grade 4-6 students. The assignment had only 5 instructions:

  1. Choose one of the three topics identified in the unit.- friendship, bullying behaviour, friendship skills or micro compassion.
  2. Identify who was in the group (4 or less) and how active they were during the process.
  3. List 10 concepts under their topic that they were trying to teach
  4. Identify how/ why the project they were developing was appropriate for grade 4-6 studetns.
  5. Cite all sources including class notes, Chat GPT, websites ext.

Students were given free reign to choose how to present as long as the above 5 steps were completed. – They were told that it couldn’t be live as I would be using the assignments in classes and I couldn’t pull them out every time I taught a class.

I am blown away by the variety of assignments I have received.

The kids were super engaged and many have gone above and beyond.

Here are a few samples:

OG- grade 8- Developed a Chat Bot on Micro Compassion

https://copilotstudio.microsoft.com/environments/Default-f3f9d945-bdd4-46e5-a6b4-e7ced80bd099/bots/crf5e_dareToCareChatbot/canvas?__version__=2

AB & EK- grade 9’s- Original Song re Bullying Prevention

SELF CARE POSTERS- developed by grade 9 AB

https://www.canva.com/design/DAGAENjjHII/MVdFvVLXzbkf_V6BBSkouQ/view

POWER POINT on Creating a Safe School- by grade 9

BE KIND POSTER – developed by grade 9 IA

Great work everyone- you have more impact than you’ll ever know

Ms Luong

Leave a comment