Family by Design

A tribute to the people who support me by choice.

Recently I was asked if I would like to contribute to an anthology titled Moms Who Live and Love Outside the Box.

In order to determine whether I was qualified to write on this topic I started out researching what it actually meant to live outside the box . The results such as this article by Steven Aitchison https://www.stevenaitchison.co.uk/author/admin/

Courageous, Enlightened, Self Confident, Respectful, Bucklist List, Friendly, and Free. Could those words possibly describe my life?

Then I took a look back through my time line and I realized that I had a few key players who chose to step into this ring of life with me, not by default (ie we were bound by blood) but because we truly grew to LOVE and LOOKOUT for each other.

Life is not about being independent and alone. Humans as a species are meant to connect and thrive.

This is my LOVE LETTER to those special people who have chosen to stick it out for me in the long haul (decades in fact) and have taught me that love and connection can go past the boundaries of the house and the space of time.

C.P Thank you for being a friend, traveling down the road and back again… yes I know that this was the Golden Girls theme song but it also perfectly sums up our relationship. Who else would go to Europe with you in high school, let you camp out at her parents place every summer while they were on vacation, remove your contact lenses when you are seeing double and get monthly pedicures with you for over 15 years. Sometimes you need a counsellor- and I give the advice, but at other times I need a lawyer and you give me your opinions. On planes, C trains, late nights in a pho shop and all the places in between I know that I will always have the toughest, most stubborn woman in my corner. – Thank you

D.B Where do I begin with this marvelous human being. When someone lives with you, in your basement sweet for over 20 years it is likely that you will become attached, but the level of commitment and support I received over the years is unbelievable. When I had a new born baby who had his witching hour from 3-4 pm every day. DB would rush home after work to hold him while I went for a walk. Over the years another kiddo was added to the brood and he became their “brotha from anotha motha”. Always open for any type of physical activity or outdoor pursuit. My kids and I are so lucky have someone like you in our lives.

L.P Farm girls are amazing They are so resilient and can MacGyver any situation with a little duct tape and elbow grease. We met as first year teachers and I knew we would be friends when she saved me from a mouse that jumped out of the storage closet at me. Armed with a mason jar, she was able to catch our furry little friend and then release them outside. She’s my biggest cheerleader as well as one of my most honest critics. We have worked as a team over the year to support each other as we raise our kiddos together, whether it’s soothing a screaming toddler outside a restaurant, blocking our crew in a booth at BPs, thrifting with our teen girls or taking calls in the middle of the night we have always been there for each other. When I lived in Japan we sent each other care packages. Technology has helped us to remain close for over 23 years. Thank you to my forever friend. I promise to “Eat my Frogs” each morning, and look for the beauty each day.

S & R 2004 was the year that I became a professional school counsellor. That was also the year that I was partnered up with my “work mom”. We have been a very dynamic duo, planning exciting events during our morning walk and talks (thank goodness we worked with an extremely analytical coworker who could help us come up with the systems to bring our dreams to reality. We’ve laughed together, cried together, attended funerals together as well as jazz cabarets. I’ve slept over and been tucked in. S’s partner R has also been extremely supportive, always taking the time to photograph us when we are all dressed up and allowing us to chat on the phone into the wee hours. You are forever in my heart.

A & L Last summer I took a new path and moved into an apartment building. I have to admit that I wasn’t sure how things would turn out. Little did I know how fabulous the third floor could become. We have the most AMAZING neighbors both beside and across the hall. These ladies are there for us when we forget our keys or just need to take a breather. We have monthly art night dates and even have team sweaters.

J & C When covid started I wasn’t sure how I was going to cope. I was a single mother who was forced to work from home. My children and I were not in anyone else’s bubble and I was frightened and alone. Thankfully I had a few amazing women in my life who started a Sunday ritual for us called Words of Wisdom. Every Sunday a small group of us would gather to share our experiences and area of expertise. This group gave me the confidence to negotiate my first mortgage. They reminded me of the importance of grounding our selves and focusing on our gratitude. They have definitely shaped my life story and influenced my future.

JK Ever have a super hippy, down to earth friend? You know, the type that grows her own vegetables, cans her own kimchi and can sew anything. I have had the privilege of having her in my life since i joined PACT (parents and children together) in 2005 when my son was only a few weeks old. We have a magical path which guides us all over the ridge y Fishcreek Park. Forever my yoga instructor, and safe house- I love you soul sister.

P When you have kids they are your most precious things. I wasn’t bout to leave my babes with just anyone. Luckily I found the perfect day home situation for our family. Although my kids are long past that phase of life I have remained in touch with P. She is my plus 1 for concerts and dinner invites. We Trick or Treat together and she even lends me her dad when he’s in town from Manitoba. Chirstmas Eve wouldn’t be complete without a skate at the lake.

T&R This power couple is amazing. Both of them have always had an open ear and a warm hug for me over the years. Fencing has created a bond between us that will not easily fade.

Etmooc 2- 10 years ago I joined a little group called #etmooc thinking that I was just going to be in a 4 week course and that would be it. It’s been 10 years since I began my blog Erin Luong’s Reflections on Counselling, Education, Leadership and Technology www.erinluong.wordpress.com, ay back in 2013 during my original #etmooc adventure. Tonight I am wondering where our latest adventure #etmooc2 a mini Mooc on Artificial Intelligence is going to take me.

I have been truly blessed to have such amazing friends and family. It definitly takes a village to raise our kids, and now thanks to technology it can be in a global village.

bye for now

Erin

Leave a comment